Nomination Cycle for Infosys Prize 2017 closed

The nomination cycle for this year’s Infosys Prize closed on May 31st at 11.59 PM IST. The team would like to thank our esteemed nomination council for its valuable contribution towards creating a rich nominee pool. The Jury will consider all nominations until October, and the winners announcement shall take place shortly afterwards.

Remembering Justice Leila Seth

Prof. Akshay Venkatesh

We would like to pay our tribute to Justice Leila Seth - a fine woman, a pioneer, and one of the best jurists in the country! The Infosys Science Foundation and our community will miss her tremendously. We are eternally grateful to her, for helping shine the light on so much good work. Her own work and writing showed people around the world a more progressive and humane way of thinking and living.

Narayana Murthy wins the 2017 Thomas Jefferson Foundation medal in global innovation

We congratulate Narayana Murthy, ISF Trustee and Founder – Infosys, on winning the 2017 Thomas Jefferson Foundation medal in global innovation. He receives this honor for his innovation and leadership in the creation of a global software and services industry. The Thomas Jefferson Foundation Medals recognize achievements of those who embrace endeavors in which Jefferson, the author of the Declaration of Independence and third U.S. president, excelled and held in high regard. These medals are the highest external honors bestowed by the University of Virginia, which grants no honorary degrees.

Renowned Astrophysicist and Infosys Prize Jury Chair Prof. Shrinivas Kulkarni wins Dan David Prize

We congratulate Prof. Shrinivas Kulkarni on winning the Dan David Prize for his role in developing the field of time domain astronomy. The Dan David Prize is a joint international corporation, endowed by the Dan David Foundation and headquartered at Tel Aviv University. The prize encourages innovative and interdisciplinary research that cuts across traditional boundaries and paradigms. Please click here to congratulate Prof. Kulkarni on our Facebook page.

Chief Guest's Address by Dr. Venkatraman Ramakrishnan

“Prizes serve a useful purpose, which is to give science publicity and also to produce good role models for young people. We give sports people a lot of publicity. We give actors lots of publicity. But scientists are usually quietly working away – away from the glare of publicity. It is nice, once in a while, to recognize them for what they do because what they do actually has a much bigger impact on us than virtually any other profession. The Indian science community should therefore be grateful for a major award for scientists, especially those who are working in India,” remarked Chief Guest, Dr. Venki Ramakrishnan at the Infosys Prize 2016 ceremony earlier this month. Read his full remarks here.

Infosys Prize 2016 Presentation Ceremony January 7, 2017 at the Leela Palace, Bengaluru

Dr. Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Group Leader, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, University of Cambridge, Padma Vibhushan, Nobel Laureate and President of the Royal Society, felicitated the winners of the Infosys Prize 2016 winners across six categories: Engineering and Computer Science, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences. This year’s winners have been spearheading research that is truly multi-disciplinary and traverses boundaries between pure sciences and other disciplines. The areas of research range from planetary exploration, mathematical theories to migration and community networks and infectious diseases.

Read More